user icon

Vettel meets Lorenzo in group stage at Race of Champions

  • Published on 07 Dec 2012 15:03
  • comments 0
  • By: Rob Veenstra
The stage is set for a thrilling Race Of Champions following the draw for the opening group stages of the event on December 14-16 at Bangkok's Rajamangala Stadium.

The Race Of Champions, which is being staged for the 25th consecutive year in 2012, brings together the world's greatest drivers from motor sport's main disciplines – including Formula 1, world rally, touring cars, Le Mans, MotoGP, IndyCar and the X-Games – and sets them free to battle head-to-head in identical machinery.

For the individual Race Of Champions on December 16 the drivers are split into groups of four for a round-robin first stage. The top two in each group earn the right to participate in the knockout stages. Now, following today’s draw at Bangkok's Rajamangala Stadium led by Kanokphand Chulakasem, Governor of the Sports Authority of Thailand, this year’s star drivers have discovered who awaits them.

There will be a mouth-watering battle between the world's best racers on four wheels and two as 2012 Formula 1 world champion Sebastian Vettel goes up against 2012 MotoGP world champion Jorge Lorenzo and 500cc MotoGP legend Mick Doohan. Other highlights include seven-time F1 world champion Michael Schumacher duelling against 2012 IndyCar Series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Race Of Champions (Sunday December 16)
Group A
Sébastien Ogier, WRC star and reigning ROC ‘Champion of Champions’
Jamie Whincup, V8 Supercar Champion 2012, 2011, 2009, 2008
David Coulthard, 13 Formula 1 grand prix victories
Benito Guerra, Production World Rally Champion 2012

Group B
Tom Kristensen, eight-time Le Mans 24-Hour race winner
Andy Priaulx, three-time World Touring Car Champion
ROC Asia 1, top non-Thailand competitor from ROC Asia
ROC Thailand 1, winner of ROC Thailand

Group C
Sebastian Vettel, Formula 1 World Champion 2012, 2011, 2010
Jorge Lorenzo, MotoGP World Champion 2012, 2010
Mick Doohan, five-time 500cc MotoGP World Champion
ROC Thailand 2, runner-up from ROC Thailand

Group D
Michael Schumacher, seven-time Formula 1 World Champion
Ryan Hunter-Reay, IndyCar Series Champion 2012
ROC Asia 2, second-placed non-Thailand competitor from ROC Asia
Romain Grosjean, three Formula 1 podiums in 2012

Before Sunday's Race Of Champions, drivers team up for the ROC Nations Cup on Saturday 15 December. Schumacher and Vettel have taken an incredible five straight titles together for Team Germany – but to reach this year’s semi-finals the favourites will first have to negotiate a group featuring Team Australia, Team Asia and hosts Team Thailand.

ROC Nations Cup (Saturday December 15)
Group A
Team France (Sébastien Ogier & Romain Grosjean)
Team Great Britain (David Coulthard & Andy Priaulx)
Team Americas (Ryan Hunter-Reay & Benito Guerra)
Team All Stars (Tom Kristensen & Jorge Lorenzo)

Group B
Team Germany (Michael Schumacher & Sebastian Vettel)
Team Thailand (The two finalists from ROC Thailand)
Team Australia (Mick Doohan & Jamie Whincup)
Team Asia (The leading ROC Asia team other than Thailand)

Replies (0)

Login to reply

BE Grand Prix of Belgium

Local time 

BE Grand Prix of Belgium

Local time 

Related news

Test calendar

Circuit de Catalunya - Winter testing

Circuit de Catalunya - Winter testing

See full test schedule

Give your opinion!

Will Bottas challenge Hamilton for the world championship in 2020?

World Championship standings 2020

Show full world champion standings

Driver profile

  • Team Haas F1
  • Points 155
  • Podiums 1
  • Grand Prix 117
  • Country FR
  • Date of b. Apr 17 1986 (34)
  • Place of b. Geneve, FR
  • Weight 71 kg
  • Length 1.80 m
Show full profile

Formula 1 Calendar - 2021

Grand Prix
26 - Mar 28
See full schedule

Formula 1 Calendar - 2021

Grand Prix & Circuit
26 - Mar 28
See full schedule
show sidebar